The GYCC - Who We Are

The Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee (GYCC) was formed between the National Park Service and US Forest Service in 1964 through a signed Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The MOU provides for mutual cooperation and coordination in the management of core federal lands in the Greater Yellowstone area.

The MOU was again revised in 2002 to reflect the inclusion of the US Fish and Wildlife Service on the Coordinating Committee.  In 2012, the MOU was revised to include the Bureau of Land Management.  2012 GYCC MOU (691 kB pdf)


The Coordinating Committee

  • Park Superintendents from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks;
  • Forest Supervisors from the Beaverhead-Deerlodge, Bridger-Teton, Caribou-Targhee, Custer Gallatin, and Shoshone National Forests;
  • Refuge Managers from the National Elk Refuge and Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge.
  • Bureau of Land Management Managers representing Montana, Idaho and Wyoming.

Rick Hotaling, Bureau of Land Management Montana, serves as the current committee chair. The chair serves for two years and will rotate again in Spring 2018.

David Diamond, Executive Coordinator, serves as the staff for GYCC and is located at the Custer Gallatin National Forest Supervisor’s Office in downtown Bozeman, Montana. You may contact David at or 406-697-3094.